University of Bonn

The University of Bonn was founded in 1818. It is owned by the state of North Rhine-Westphalia, and is one of the German Universities of Excellence. It now has about 30,000 students in 7 Faculties. The largest faculty is the Faculty of Philosophy. TEACH is part of it.

Bonn was established more than 2000 years ago as a Roman military camp. In the early modern period it became the residence city of the electoral archbishop of Cologne. From 1815 it belonged to Prussia and during this period became widely famous as a university city. In 1949 Bonn became the provisional capital of the West Germany. After Germany's reunification in 1990, Bonn is still the seat of numerous government institutions as a federal city. In Bonn Ludwig van Beethoven was born, Karl Marx and Heinrich Heine studied here, Joseph Ratzinger (later Pope Benedict XVI) was a professor here, the composer Robert Schumann lived here as did Ernst Moritz Arndt. Bonn is home to a Regional Representation of the European Union and the United Nations Regional Information Centre for Western Europe.

Bonn has a long tradition of Asian studies. Already in the founding year of the university, August Wilhelm Schlegel was appointed the first German professor of Indology. The physician and Japan researcher Philipp Franz von Siebold continued his botanical studies here and prepared his epoch-making publications on Japan. Ferdinand von Richthofen became professor of geography here in 1875 and published his studies on China, in which he coined the term Silk Road. Since 1959, the Seminar for Oriental Languages, originally founded in Berlin in 1887, existed at the university and was a department of the Institute of Oriental and Asian Studies between 2006 and 2012. In 2013, the Japanese and Korean language sections of the Department of Japanese and Korean Studies were incorporated. This department is the sponsor of TEACH.

Homepage of the University of Bonn

Korea University

The Korea University was founded in 1905 as a private university. Today, the comprehensive university has more than 35,000 students. Its main campus is located in Anam in western Seoul, with another campus in Sejong, a new city founded in 2012.Korea University students played a leading role in the removal of authoritarian rule by President Yi Sungman in 1960.

Seoul has been the capital of Korea since 1394. Today it is home to nearly 10 million people, and with the surrounding area, nearly 24 million. Much of the political, cultural and economic life of South Korea is concentrated here. The Han River helps determine the cityscape.

Internationalization is one of the most important goals of Korea's universities. Very many courses are offered in English. Korea University also enjoys an excellent reputation in Asian studies.

Homepage of Korea University

University of Tsukuba

The University of Tsukuba was founded in 1978, but its tradition dates back to 1872. It is a Japanese state university and today has about 17,000 students in 9 Faculties.

Tsukuba has been planned and built as a science city since the 1970s. It is located in Ibaraki Prefecture and is about 60 km from Tōkyō. In 1985, a world exposition was held here. Tsukuba is home to about 220,000 people. It is home to important national research institutions whose staff have won several Nobel Prizes, including the Research Center for High Energy Physics and the Space Flight Center. Nearby is the two-tipped Tsukuba Mountain, which has played an important role in Japanese religious history since the 8th century.

Homepage of the University of Tsukuba


The German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) was founded in 1925 at the suggestion of students. Its headquarters are located in Bonn. It is the world's largest funding organization for the exchange of students and scholars. It is financed by governmental institutions of the Federal Republic of Germany, the European Union and private sponsors. It is managed by representatives of German universities and their students.

The DAAD funds TEACH as part of its Integrated International Degree Programs with Double Degrees program.

Homepage of the DAAD